It has been way too long since I’ve written about my progress. In part, this delay has been due to a waning in my motivation. It’s like I hit the 10 percent goal and gave up. (I didn’t really give up.) In talking to two of my fellow weight-loss journey pals, I realized we all hit that point at the same time. And instead of really working to motivate each other, we just gave ourselves excuses. Excuses not to work out, excuses not to eat well, excuses not to keep making progress.

One of the three of us (not me), recommitted herself to her goals this morning, She sent me a text, which is one of the tools we use to motivate each other, so I could keep her accountable. Seeing that she was recommitting herself to making positive, thoughtful choices, I know that I need to do the same thing. My preferred tool for accountability, however, is this blog. As you can tell, I have been avoiding it like the plague. I have been making excuses for not working toward my goals. But it’s time to stop and move forward.

Much like I did when I started this process, I reflected on where I am and where I want to be. I know where I don’t want to be, and that’s back in the clothes I was wearing in February. So over the past couple of days, I sorted through my closet and bagged up the clothes I had that were just taking up room. In donating the clothes I have “undergrown,” I am removing any form of permission to go back to where I was. Now all I have in my closet are clothes I can wear now, or clothes I will be wearing in the not-so-distant future. It means I don’t have much left in my wardrobe, but that’s okay. I have nowhere to go but down the scale.

In terms of moving down the scale, I am right on the verge of hitting my June weight loss goal. Because I have been lazy about eating well and exercising, and because I have been hitting my weight loss goals early, I was making excuses for not continuing the trend. But I’m tired of being right on the precipice of making good progress. Once I hit this month’s weight loss goal, I will be down a full 40 pounds from the end of February.

So this is me publicly recommitting myself to my weight-loss journey. I haven’t been upset with myself over my waning enthusiasm because I know this is a process and these times will come. But I could sure use a kick in the pants. I’m right on the verge of dropping another size, too. My goal is to be in that smaller size by the end of July. 

Here’s to progress!